One week in…

March 21, 2007

So now that we have one full week under our belts, I thought it was time to blog a bit.

I’m Christine, owner of WORD. The store opened last Wednesday on a gorgeous, 70-degree day and the locals were out in full force. By the end of the day I was pretty much a weepy mess because of all the warm welcomes we received that day. (It could also have been exhaustion, or a combo of both). I tell you, Greenpoint is one hell of a neighborhood. Having lived here for a little while, I expected some great people to come by, but I never expected the kindness and gratitude that kept pouring in all week. I’m glad many of you are happy to have me here because I am thrilled to be here. Thanks again for all who popped their heads in to say hello and welcome.

A little background: I owned a small bookstore on Long Island for almost six years and looked for a space to move it for pretty much the last year. I was looking in W’burg most of that time, then suddenly one day over brunch with my husband (name: Vinnie) at Greenpoint Coffee House I had an epiphany and decided Greenpoint was the place for me. I found my space that same day and never looked back.

Once we get up and running a bit more, we will start organizing a bunch of book clubs for kids and adults, as well as a series of workshops and author events. Stay tuned!

4 Responses to “One week in…”

  1. Kathy Fitzpatrick Says:

    Hi, Christine.

    I’m so happy to see this blog. Now I can track your success! We sure miss you in Northport but I can see that things are moving swiftly along in Greenpoint. The photos are wonderful. You’ve done some neat things with the space. I love the children’s corner and those typewriters add such character! I will definitely be keeping an eye on your book club books, even if I can’t join from here. I’m still interested to know what people are reading!

    Good luck to you!
    Kathy Fitz

  2. Julie Colatosti Says:

    Hi guys, I’m so happy to see your new store is open! I browsed the pictures and it looks awesome! Don and I are taking a ride out there soon to see you and check out some books. I can’t wait to give you a great big congratulatory hug! It’s also great to read the neighborhood has been so welcoming. I can’t wait to check it out…great luck and see you soon. Love, Julie.

  3. Maureen Says:

    What an amazing transformation. The bookstore looks incredible. So hip , so cool and so both of you. Your father may be proud but so are your friends. I am jealous of all the folk in Greenpoint that have you and your bookstore. We miss you here in Northport, but now we have a reason to get in the car and drive west. Congratulations to both you and Vinny, and I promise you I will spread the WORD!

  4. cindy cruz Says:

    Hi Christine,

    I met you a few weeks back(a day or so after you opened the store). I am a writer (see the following : http://www.alicejamesbooks.org/ruin.html) I ad mentioned doing a reading but actually have a better plan. Id like to have a reading for my publisher, Alice James Books, with severel Brooklyn poets. Are you interested?

    Cindy


Leave a Reply

