Rainy days and Wednesdays get me down…

April 4, 2007

I’m thinking about a great visit we had yesterday from some friends we met at the old store in Northport. They have become close friends over the last six years and kindly drove the 40 minutes for a peek at the new store and to visit awhile. Their 3 1/2 year old loved coming to the old store and having me read her books, but she was asleep when they arrived here and woke up very cranky and non-communicative. When she decided she was awake enough to get off the floor and actually look me in the eye, I took her over to the kids’ section and started reading. About mid-way through the second book, she looked up very seriously at me and asked, “why did you move the bookstore so far away?” I didn’t want to bore her with the truth (that the suburbs have become a wasteland of Costcos and Stop and Shops and no one appreciates small business anymore) so I just told her that I needed to move the store closer to my home and didn’t she think the new store was bigger and nicer than the old one? She didn’t seem convinced.

There were a handful of families that were loyal customers and became friends, and I hope to make more of the same here. But here’s a shout-out to all my old pals in Northport. They helped me learn everything I needed to know to be successful in Brooklyn, and I appreciate them for that.

Leave a Reply

