Dorky book stuff and a basement update

April 27, 2007

Last night I met with my original book club, the one that formed soon after I opened the last store and has stuck together for almost six years now. It’s an amazing group full of smart women of different ages and backgrounds and we always have lively discussions.

I found last night’s discussion especially thought-provoking because we read and compared two books, Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer and The History of Love by his wife, Nicole Krauss.  I adore both of these books, but Extremely Loud is one of my favorite books of the last few years. I think it’s beautiful and sad and funny and one of those books that makes me wonder how anyone could have a book like this rattling around their head.

I think everyone in the group really liked both books and our enthusiasm showed. We probably could have kept talking all night.

I am mentioning this here to encourage everyone to read these books if you haven’t already, but also to pass on my enthusiasm for book groups and how wonderful they can be. The great thing about forming a group through a bookstore is the diverse perspectives you get at each discussion. I don’t think that rings true when a group of friends, who are usually close in age and at the same place in their lives, form a book group.

I look forward to sitting in on many new book groups here at WORD, which leads me to the second part of my post…we’re hoping to get started on construction on our lower level soon, so our event space is one step closer to completion.

For those of you interested in joining a book group please email me or make sure you’re on the store mailing list so you will receive our first email newsletter.

Leave a Reply

