People have been asking…

May 9, 2007

…about my favorite books when looking for recommendations. I will try to post some of my picks here and there, hoping people with similar tastes will try something new. Here are five for now:

1) Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer: I’ve already discussed my unending adoration of this book. It’s beautiful, sad, and funny. Read it.

2) The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger: This is one of those books that made me angry, wondering how someone could write something so unique and compelling. How do people write this stuff? This book is a romance at its heart, but it’s also a dark story about time travel. Try it, I hope you love it as much as I do.

3) Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami: I’m a relatively new convert to Murakami’s work. I love this book but please don’t ask me why. I’m not even sure I understood a lot of it, but it was gorgeous and I couldn’t put it down. His style is like no other.

4) The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon: An epic adventure about a kid who escapes Prague during WWII and moves in with his cousin in Brooklyn. They start a comic book empire. What more can I say? It’s dense but brilliant.

5) Devil in the White City by Erik Larson: I wanted to include at least one non-fiction pick here, and this one is it. I am in general not a huge reader of non-fiction, but Larson has a great way of keeping the reader intrigued with his  dual story narration technique. He switches chapter-by-chapter between the history of the Chicago World’s Fair and a mysterious serial killer roaming the streets of Chicago at the same time. It’s so compelling that sometimes you forget it’s not a novel.

Leave a Reply

