Book Expo America

June 5, 2007

Whew. Just got back from a whirlwind five days at BEA, it was my first and I was completely overwhelmed and overstimulated. But I saw lots of great new stuff for the store, met tons of publishers and amazing independent booksellers from all over the country, and even some authors. My most exciting moment?

Yep, that’s me and Jonathan Safran Foer. I know I acted like a creepy stalker, but he was kind and gracious and even got a call from his wife, Nicole Krauss, while we were talking. I told him he could come to the store and promote anything he wanted to, he could talk about dirt if he so pleases, and I hope one day he takes me up on it.

Another exciting author meeting was with Alison Bechdel, author of the seriously amazing graphic memoir Fun Home. Here we are:

If you haven’t read her book yet, you should. It’s really incredible.

Finally, I couldn’t leave out the following two encounters with cardboard standees, one with my friend Kathy and Stephen Colbert, and one with my husband Vinnie and some scary flasher dude.

And who said book people are geeks?

2 Responses to “Book Expo America”


  1. Just read your rundown on BEA, and wished I could have met you there! I am the author of FAR ABOVE RUBIES, published by Martin & Lawrence Press and distributed by BluSky Media Group (whose booth at BEA was my home base). I would love to introduce you to this historical novel (based on the true story of an Auschwitz survivor) for future inclusion in your store’s inventory. Feel free to visit my website for more info on the book, or email me back and I’ll be glad to send you a copy and press kit.
    Read on!
    Cynthia Polansky

  2. Gary Jones Says:

    I also attended BookExpo America and it was my first time too. In fact, it was also my first time visiting New York and I made the trip because my book was up for a Book of the Year Award from ForeWord Magazine (“True Crime” category). Unfortunately, the competition was good and I didn’t win, but I was at least a finalist. I don’t know if you might want to carry my book in your store, but it’s about violent crime in 1970’s Fort Lauderdale, Florida. The 70’s was the deadliest decade for law enforcement during the entire 20th Century, and more police officers died during the 70’s than during any other decade. My book is titled:
    Badge 149 – “Shots Fired!”
    My web site (www.badge149.com) has more information about my book and me, plus some actual crime scene photographs from incidents in my book. The publisher’s web site is: http://www.bbotw.com/ (any books purchased from them would also be returnable too, with a 100% refund). I hope you might consider my book, but if not, next time I’m in New York City I’ll come by and check your store out. From your pictures it looked like the kind of place I’d like to browse around. Have a good week.
    Gary Jones
    Tallahassee, Florida


Leave a Reply

