Musings and Mazel Tov

July 3, 2007

I recently read Michael Chabon’s new book The Yiddish Policemen’s Union. I love his writing and did like the book very much (even though I found the end a bit rushed), but I felt like my being a lapsed Catholic left me in the dark about a lot of the Jewish references. Interestingly, I’m now reading an advance copy of A.J. Jacobs’ new book called The Year of Living Biblically, and they compliment each other perfectly. If you haven’t read his first book, The Know-it-All, you should, because it’s hysterical and a really fun, interesting read. In his new book, Jacobs followed the Bible as literally as possible for one year. I’m really enjoying his humorous yet pretty sincere investigation into religion, spirituality and tradition. This book isn’t out until October, but consider it as a non-fiction compliment for those who love Michael Chabon.

Leave a Reply

