I just can’t help myself!

December 18, 2007

Remember a few days ago when I posted about the National Book Critics Circle blog, and the WOMAN (yes, she’s a woman, as am I, and there’s no reason I can’t call her that, it’s not sexist, just a fact) who called my store not independent because I carried books published by big publishers?

Well, our war of words has continued, and I just can’t stop myself from reading her posts and getting involved. Now another blogger has witnessed our war and taken my side. I will repost it here for effect:

“This post about the NBCC’s Best Recommended list debuting at bookstores is interesting, but the comments on the post really caught my attention. I’m sure to call down the wrath of the internet for even commenting on it, but I have to defend the independents from the first commenter Fran. I get that you’re upset to not have been published, but if this is how you talk to the local indies in your neighborhood, no wonder they won’t carry your book! I’d love to see her open her idea of an “independent” bookstore and see how long it lasts. Besides, is it really a crime to carry the books of Michael Chabon and Denis Johnson? Isn’t that throwing out the baby with the bath to suggest that all books from larger publishers are inherently bad? Maybe your books aren’t picked up because they’re no good! And I’ve got another statement that’s going to piss folks off: Far too many people think that they’re great writers these days. Anyone who’s stubbed their toe thinks they should write a memoir about it. It’s fine to write, go for it, but everyone shouldn’t expect to get published. There’s just no way. Rant over.”

Thanks Book Dwarf! I don’t know you but I can tell you are sane and reasonable, and not a literary asshole in the least bit.

Oh, and to make this story even better (if it can possibly get better) an adorable couple I met playing Bingo at Black Rabbit this past Sunday night have also become obsessed with my nemesis and have added their own comments the fray.

Here they are sharing a copy of George Saunder’s Braindead Megaphone in between Bingo games:

bingo

It’s all too good. And boy, it’s wasting WAY too much of my time.

One Response to “I just can’t help myself!”

  1. rowan Says:

    i’ve always said: i’d rather spend my money at an independent book store than at a big chain. better yet a book store that is local.
    i’ve found things in your store that i would NEVER see in Barnes & Noble or Borders, simply because they aren’t money makers for them.
    an independent bookstore characterizes the neighborhood that it is in. it becomes a reflection of the customers’ interests and that is something you will never find in a large chain.

    p.s. maybe i will see you at bingo some night. i’m curious about it.


Leave a Reply

