The WORD Interview with Emily Mandel

June 1, 2009

emily mandel author photo1

We’re very excited to be hosting the launch party for Emily St. John Mandel’s debut novel, Last Night in Montreal, a story of “…love, amnesia, compulsive travel, the depths and the limits of family bonds, and the nature of obsession.” Emily will be at the store tomorrow, Tuesday, June 2 at 7:30 pm for a reading and signing. We caught up with her for a quick Q&A before the event:

1) Do you have a favorite WORD?

I fall in love with words in serial fashion, but I think my latest favorite word is susurration. It’s one of those fantastic words that you just don’t get to use very often.

2) What WORDS do you live by?
There’s a line I like from Anne Michaels’ debut novel, Fugitive Pieces: “Find a way to make beauty necessary; find a way to make necessity beautiful.”

3) What was the last book you read?

Wake Up, Sir! by Jonathan Ames. (Purchased, incidentally, at WORD.)

4) Any idea what you’ll read next?

I think the next book I read will be Jonathan Lethem’s Motherless Brooklyn.  I loved The Fortress of Solitude, but aside from short stories in the New Yorker I haven’t read his other work.

5) What is the last book you bought someone as a gift?

Tales from Outer Suburbia, by Shaun Tan.

6) Where did you buy it?

At BookCourt, a lovely independent bookstore on Court Street in Carroll Gardens.

7) What are you working on now – anything you can tell share about your next project(s)?

I’m very happy to report that I recently sold my second novel to Unbridled Books — The Singer’s Gun will come out sometime in 2010. I’m working on one last round of revisions. I’ve also started writing the third novel, but only barely.

8) Do you have a favorite spot in Greenpoint?

Yes. WORD. And I swear I’m not just saying that because you’re hosting my book launch.

(We’re blushing…thanks Emily!)

Leave a Reply

