WORD on Wednesdays: 14 October 2009

October 14, 2009

(Not sure what this blog post is about? Click here.)

Front table at WORD, 14 October 2009.

This week! Released yesterday and towering over the front table like the colossus of New York literature that is Jonathan Lethem,  ladies-and-gentlemen-may-I-present-to-you, Chronic City. Michiko might not have liked it, but, though we acknowledge some of her complaints, we did. This was one of our biggest buys of the season and we have high hopes for it.

Sarah Vowell and Audrey Niffenegger (hers is the book that’s so shiny you can’t tell what the cover looks like) are still hanging out up front, as is Charles Bukowski. Nobody’s bought the new Bukowski, which surprises me, given how his other books sell. They tend to sell in waves, though. We’ll give it a little more time. Same thing with Byatt, selling pretty well, and Orwell. The Michael Chabon Manhood for Amateurs was a late addition last week, in time for the weekend. He’s another very popular author around here. Eggers’ The Wild Things is sticking around at least through opening weekend for the film.

As for the new stuff: I’m most excited about “the first uncensored edition” of In The First Circle by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. Having never read it, I have no idea why I am so excited about it. But I am. I’m pretty sure our customers will be too; classics sell very well for us, and I’ve noticed more Russian classics selling in the last few months (draw your own conclusions about that, as I have none).

Barbara Ehrenrich’s new book about the perils of positive thinking, Bright-Sided, was released this week. Also new to the store this week: The Book of Fathers, by Miklos Vamos. I know very little about this book, but it looks good, and I have faith in the publisher (Other Press). And Further Adventures, by Jon Stephen Fink, a re-release that I’ve heard several people get excited about. Oh, and it’s Best-XXXXXXXX-2009 collection time, so we’re featuring Best Music Writing 2009 up front, though we have all of them in the store.

The other two new books on the table aren’t new in the sense that they came out this week, but they’re books that I want people to give a second look. The first, Museum Legs, starts with this question: “Why do people get bored and tired in art museums and why does that matter?” Pretty cool premise, no? The other is Leaving Brooklyn, by Lynne Sharon Schwartz. A lovely novel about post-WWII Brooklyn that I think has been overlooked.

Personally, I’m not crazy about the color mix of these books, but what can you do. What do you think?

One Response to “WORD on Wednesdays: 14 October 2009”

  1. Fanny Priest Says:

    Dear Word,

    I visited your shop a few weeks ago while I was hanging out in Greenpoint with my bff, Caitlin (the gal that was asking about the foreign-language books.) Anyway, I fell in love with your store, was sorry I didn’t have money to buy anything, and even sorrier that I live in Texas and cannot browse your fabulously curated shelves on a regular basis. Needless to say, I am so, so excited about this new feature on your blog. Please keep it up–you have an avid reader just south of Austin.


Leave a Reply

